Hebei Province

Chinese: 河北
Pinyin: Hébĕi
English: River north

Hebei is divided into two sections, east and west, with Tianjin Municipality and Beijing Municipality in between.

Hebei east

Hebei east is divided onto Qinhuangdao and Tangshan


The Great Wall in Qinhuangdao is divided into these locations:


The Great Wall in Tangshan is divided into these locations:

Hebei west

The Great Wall in Hebei west is divided into these locations:

The name Hebei means “north of the river”, referring to its location completely above the Yellow River. Hebei Province is made up of eleven prefecture-level divisions, which are all prefecture-level cities. The Great Wall runs through three of them. In order from east to west, these are Qinhuangdao, Tangshan, and Zhangjiakou. After leaving Tangshan, the route of the Great Wall runs through Tianjin and Beijing Municipality before re-entering Hebei in Zhangjiakou.

In addition to the Great Wall, the Eastern Qing Dynasty imperial tombs at Zunhua and Western Qing Dynasty imperial tombs located at Yixian are also located in Hebei Province. The tombs are a World Heritage Site. The Chengde Mountain Resort and its nearby temples are another highly worthwhile Hebei Province World Heritage Site.

Map of the Great Wall in eastern Hebei Province and Tianjin

Hebei Province has an area of 187,700 square kilometers (72,500 square miles) and a population of about 75 million people. Hebei has a continental monsoon climate, with cold, dry winters, and hot, humid summers. Temperatures average −16°C to −3°C (3°F to 27°F) in January and 20°C to 27°C (68°F to 81°F) in July; the annual precipitation ranges from 400 to 800 millimeters (16 to 31 inches), concentrated heavily in summer.

Progressing from east to west, we will first divide the locations into these areas: East of Beijing Municipality, Beijing Municipality, and west of Beijing Municipality. These areas will be further divided into provinces and counties or districts where appropriate.

Starting to the east of the Beijing Municipality, we will examine Great Wall areas in Liaoning Province and Hebei Province.

Hebei Province surrounds the Beijing Municipality to the east and the west. As the Great Wall goes westward, it leaves Hebei, goes into Tianjin Municipality, and then goes through Beijing Municipality, and then continues back into Hebei to the west of Beijing. For this reason, the Great Wall locations in Hebei will be divided into east of Beijing Municipality and west of Beijing Municipality.